PDA

View Full Version : First Experiential Build for a full SCAMP build

wlai
05-25-2016, 12:01 PM
H all:

I have my mind set on building a SCAMP this winter. As background, I'm a pretty decent woodworker but have never built anything water tight, and as a sailor it has been a while since I sailed and would call myself barely competent at that.

So in preparation to the SCAMP, I'm thinking about building a first boat this summer as a warm up, and at the same time have a simple boat to practice my sailing skills for a season or two.

I've been doing quite a bit of research on which design to build, with two criteria in mind: I want to keep the budget low, say $500 or so as I need to save funds for the SCAMP. And the build needs to be not too lengthy (a couple weekends?) but gives me a good intro to the skills needed for the SCAMP build. In particular, I have never worked with fiberglass and epoxy before, never built a mast, never made sail, and finishing is not something I'm particularly good at.

I've dived pretty deeply into PDR and its variants, and started looking at the Sharpie and the Summer Breeze based on previous recommendations on the board. Also looked into sitch and glue kits from CLC, etc, even their Stand Up Paddle boards as I could use a SUP anyway, but can't shake the feeling that it's cheating a little with a kit :-)

Would love to hear any other recommendation on designs that I should look into, as well as any opinion on which may be the most appropriate build based on the above criteria? Any advice or suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks much,

William

DeniseO30
05-25-2016, 12:30 PM