PDA

View Full Version : Are there any archers here ?

PeterSibley
12-18-2015, 05:48 AM
I've been shooting arrows for a few months now. I bought a light recurve bow and 10 arrows and have been quietly plunking away most afternoons, shooting about 30 arrows from 20 and 25 yards. I' steadily improving especially when I consider my first attempts.

6 or 7 arrows in a 6'' group with a couple outside seems the rule at the moment. I'm after all ten in a 4'' group.

Does anyone else play this game?

Phillip Allen
12-18-2015, 07:01 AM
I'm impressed that you chose a simple bow

Paul Pless
12-18-2015, 07:04 AM
Does anyone else play this game?I used to. State of Alabama youth champion in 1985 and 86. I gave it up in college. Damn that was a long time ago. . .

lupussonic
12-18-2015, 07:54 AM
I'd love to, but have not as yet. Would love to make bows and arrows, and I think it is a much harder and more honourable way of hunting, that is more skilled and involved than rifle hunting provided the animal doesn't suffer overly. Which it probably would.
In the mean time it's a pastime I must take up. Well done Peter.

Old Dryfoot
12-18-2015, 09:43 AM
I do. I shoot a 45# recurve at the moment. Not as often as I would like though.

I'm keeping an eye out for an Onida bow too. I'm not much for compounds, but the Onida is just too nice to shoot not to own one.

P.I. Stazzer-Newt
12-18-2015, 11:35 AM
I'd love to, but have not as yet. Would love to make bows and arrows, and I think it is a much harder and more honourable way of hunting, that is more skilled and involved than rifle hunting provided the animal doesn't suffer overly. Which it probably would.
In the mean time it's a pastime I must take up. Well done Peter.

My father had an archery equipment manufacturing company, but I've not shot in years - Bow hunting is illegal in the UK.

pipefitter
12-18-2015, 11:37 AM
Bow fishing is more fun than target practice or hunting land game.

jonboy
12-18-2015, 02:49 PM