Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • stromborg
    • Sep 2010

Dunphy runabout restoration

I know, the last project was only launched a month ago. My name is Steve and I am a serial boat builder.

With that out of the way, a friend has given me an old Dunphy runabout. 17' long built in plywood lapstrake over what appear to be bent oak frames. From what I have gathered Dunphy made boats in this style from about 1958 through 1963 when they closed up shop. Ed started "restoring" it a number of years ago in his garage by sanding almost all the paint off the outside and pulling all the furnishings out before he got bored with it so at least I can see everything. It is actually in pretty good shape, no obviously cracked frames and all the planks above the waterline seem solid while those below have a bit of water damage on their exposed edges along the transom and a few soft areas on the outer veneers. I know, nothing is more expensive than a free boat but my wife is excited about it and I think it will be fun.

Pictures once I get it hauled into my shop. I do have a question about how they would have fastened this together back the day. The below the waterline planks have rivets every few inches, above they appear to be only fastened to the frames. Would Dunphy have used a glue like resorcinol on the laps or relied on the fasteners? I can't tell just yet and none of the seams that I can see so far have opened up. I have the usual assortment of boatbuilding books on the shelf but nothing about these old runabouts so tips on good resources are appreciated too.
    Steve

If you would have a good boat, be a good guy when you build her - honest, careful, patient, strong.
    H.A. Calahan
  • stromborg
    • Sep 2010

Re: Dunphy runabout restoration

Pictures

This is what a freshly restored one looks like.

Mine was more like this when Ed picked it up.

At least he sanded off most of the paint.