PDA

View Full Version : Sabb Diesel Cooling System Problem!

CurlewIII
07-14-2015, 02:01 PM
I have a Sabb diesel from '67. It's a 10 hp, one cylinder, model GG, with saltwater cooling.

Basically, every time I turn on the engine, it runs fine for a few minutes, and then the cooling system gets blocked up.

I was confused about why the system keeps getting blocked up, but after removing blockage after blockage, it seems to be that the things causing the blockages are little pieces of scale, presumably coming from inside the engine. The engine had been sitting unused for three years before I acquired it, and it seems likely that some rust occurred inside, which is now getting picked up by the water and getting trapped, usually in the thermostatic valve on the top of the cylinder head.

I was wondering where I should start in fixing this? How do I remove the scale, and where would be a good place to start removing it from? I'm a total novice at this whole 'mechanics' thing so any help would be very appreciated!

Thanks so much,

Maya, and Curlew III :)

Garret
07-14-2015, 02:20 PM
Welcome to the forum!

No fun. First off, do you have a raw water strainer on the water coming into the boat? That's a must - particularly with a raw water cooled engine.

If it is caused by scale loosening from inside the engine, I don't see any thing short of a teardown fixing it. Even then, getting at all of the cooling passages will be tough. It's possible that running a powerful radiator cleaner (read mostly acid) through it, but you'd have to isolate the incoming & outgoing water to a barrel or some such - as it has to circulate through for a while (1/2 hour or more) & can't be diluted too much. That would be hard to do with the boat in the water - unless you run temporary hoses to a barrel in the cockpit. You'd want to be really sure not to spill any of the solution on the boat - as it'd mess up wood, varnish & paint.