PDA

View Full Version : Cedar vs. Pine planking

Peterduncan
07-08-2015, 09:39 AM
I am currently building the Handi Billy by Harry Bryan and was wondering if I can substitute white pine for Atlantic White Cedar for the planking. The required thickness is 5/8". In a test I have found that the pine does not need to be steamed to make the bend in the bow. Am I barking up the wrong tree?

Dan McCosh
07-08-2015, 10:19 AM
Cedar is more rot resistant than pine.

ahp
07-08-2015, 10:32 AM
I am currently building the Handi Billy by Harry Bryan and was wondering if I can substitute white pine for Atlantic White Cedar for the planking. The required thickness is 5/8". In a test I have found that the pine does not need to be steamed to make the bend in the bow. Am I barking up the wrong tree?

I have no first hand experience with either as a boat building wood. That said, I have read that long leaf yellow pine is quite rot resistant. It is also harder and heavier. I don't know if you can get long leaf yellow pine easily in CT, or know what you are getting. Down here if you go to the Big Box they have "Southern Pine" what ever that is. Maybe it just grew south of the Mason Dixon Line.

switters
07-08-2015, 10:38 AM
weight difference is a major consideration,

about 3lbs difference per cuft.

http://www.engineeringtoolbox.com/weigt-wood-d_821.html

Gib Etheridge
07-08-2015, 11:15 AM
About 35 years ago I build a Chamberlain dory of very nice clear eastern white pine and subsequently traded it for an old easthope engine. The new owner left it out in the weather and less than 2 years later it was rotted beyond repair. I've used lodgepole pine for a couple of outdoor projects with the same results. Never again.

Jay Greer
07-08-2015, 12:35 PM