PDA

View Full Version : Laughing Gull by Arch Davis

John A. Campbell
10-01-2004, 03:35 PM
It has now been 6 months since my sweet wife Corine died (3/26/04) and I am trying to get my life back on track. Now have a new lady friend and want to do some sailing starting spring of 2005 and through the summer here in Texas. In the autumn of 2005, I want us to go to New England for some serious camping and sailing. I have very little sailing experience and she has none and can't swim. I'm finishing up "Piccolo" in glued lap construction but feel I need something a little more stable and seaworthy and "Laughing Gull" seems like a good candidate. I plan to use 6 mm Okoume and Sitka spruce to keep weight to a minimum plus a 2 hp Honda 4-stroke outboard for auxillary power. Also, I plan to use West System epoxy, Epifanes varnish on interior and trim, Kirby's marine paint on exterior of planks, and light red Honduran mahogany trim (breasthook, transom, inwales, outwales). Would appreciate any comments....pro or con....about my plans.....Thanks!!

Christopher Locke
10-01-2004, 04:17 PM
John,

I'm sorry to hear about your loss but it is good that you are moving on. I bought the plans for Laughing Gull. If you haven't already, I'd strongly recommend that you buy the study guide first to get a better sense for the boat.

Let me start by saying that I think Arch Davis is probably the best designer out there for a first time boatbuilder. No-one else has his level of support and hand-holding.

Having said that, I'm not sure that Laughing Gull is the right boat for you. My first question is, somewhat indelicately, how much you and your new lady friend, plus the motor (and camping gear?), weigh. Laughing Gull has a maximum capacity of 400 lb. It is really a kids' boat or singlehander. I have a hard time imagining it taking 2 adults, a motor and camping gear safely.