PDA

View Full Version : Why Varnish?

MillstreamPocket
05-12-2015, 10:19 AM
Hi Folks, I'm new to the wooden boat world and have what may be a really dumb question. Why varnish? I have a Monhegan Island Skiff that I just oiled up for the season with 50/50 Boiled Linseed and Turpentine. It looks great, went on so easy, is simple to clean up and I really like working with it. Meanwhile I'm chipping varnish off the Cabin Sides of our other boat and wondering, why not just do the oil treatment I did on the skiff?

Can traditional brightwork be oiled rather than varnished? Is there a risk in going with oil that penetrates rather than varnish that "coats"?

Peerie Maa
05-12-2015, 11:34 AM
Varnish is better protection and does not turn black because the mould won't eat it.

Varnish slowes down the effects of changing humidity, but if you don't have to worry about that then the boat won't deteriorate with oiling.

Hreoaj
05-12-2015, 12:06 PM
Varnish generally has more UV inhibitors as well. Oil has come a long way in the solids department but quality spar varnish would be the way to go for UV protection.

MillstreamPocket
05-12-2015, 12:58 PM
Thanks to you both. Very helpful. If I go with oil and it gets black due to mould can I sand it and re-oil or is irreparable damage done?

Hreoaj
05-12-2015, 01:05 PM
Mold can be cleaned with a powdered bleach wood cleaner or mix your own with laundry bleach, water, and borax. You can google DIY ratios/recipes. Optionally you can follow up the cleaning with a wood brightener which is an acid based product. It will "brighten" the wood to a uniform lighter color when scrubbed on. Don't leave either solution on longer than ten minutes though. Sanding is also possible but bleach solutions are the best way to make sure you kill the micro organisms that grey wood.

edit:spelling

MillstreamPocket
05-12-2015, 01:17 PM
Thanks again. I have my work cut out for me.
https://millstreampocket.files.wordpress.com/2015/05/img_0309.jpg

pcford