PDA

View Full Version : Re-subcribe offer

Hesp
01-31-2015, 10:03 AM
I was thinking it was getting near the time to re-subcribe at the end of last year so imagine my delight when I got an email on 6 Jan offering a special coupon (with its own special code) giving 23% off. I was told there was only five days left in which to use this coupon, so I clicked on it and was taken to a page offering the discounted prices. I opted for three years print and digital - $154 here in the UK. Before I committed, and just out of curiosity I opened another browser and checked the non-discounted subscription rate, which to my surprise was exactly the same - $154. I was a bit taken aback by this so didn't re-subscribe. In fact I sent a message asking about it, to which I received no reply.

Here we are nearly a month later and I'm thinking I'd better re-subscribe, odd sales techniques or not. After all I've been subscribing for maybe twenty years, and buying the magazine since issue 30. Again, out of curiosity I looked up the special offer email and clicked on the link to get a discount. This offer was supposed to have elapsed after five days, so imagine my surprise (actually none) when I was given the same offer as previously.

So what's with the hard-sell Woodenboat? I'm not buying encyclopaedias or double glazing.

John

(Still not re-subscribed).

J.Madison
01-31-2015, 10:16 AM
They did this before too, and it came up on this board. The discount is over buying the newsstand price in the states. So its completely bogus and low-brow marketing from our high brow magazine.

Nicholas Carey
02-18-2015, 11:39 AM
These sorts of offers are usually run by the fulfillment house that actually manages the subscriptions. The best thing about these offers is that the longer you delay re-subscribing, the sweeter the deal becomes?

Peter Gottlund
02-18-2015, 08:03 PM
"After all I've been subscribing for maybe twenty years"!
Really?