PDA

View Full Version : Cold Molding vs. Replanking

kmarengo
05-16-2003, 09:37 PM
I am repairing a mahogany planked boat, my question is...what would be the best way to fix it? There are over 20 broken or cracked frames...should I replace the frames and rework the original planks, or is cold molding over the planks a better way to go? And when do you refasten? Do you have to redo all the screws at the same time?

kmarengo

JimD
05-16-2003, 10:04 PM
Hello, kmerengo. Firstly, I have no experience whatsoever with restoring a planked boat, but seems to me that you are talking about whether to restore a boat to its original construction type or to turn it into a completely different type of hull. Personally I think its a sad thing to take a traditionally planked boat and change it like that but it ain't my boat :D Also, veneering a hull with a lot of busted frames sounds like a dangerous band aid cure that could add a lot of weight but not necessarily strength where you need it. Are the planks themselves in good shape? T'were it me, I'd replace the frames.Perhaps others with more experience with this will jump in (and make me look foolish smile.gif ) .

imported_Conrad
05-16-2003, 11:13 PM
How big a boat are we talking about? An open 20'er- repair the frames and refasten, it's easy and fun. A 40'er with lots of interior stuff in the way and other issues, maybe cold mold. A lot depends....

kmarengo
05-18-2003, 05:16 PM
Thanks for responding...