PDA

View Full Version : spira substitute

FiremanFil
07-18-2014, 08:49 AM
I am building a Spira 14' dory. The plans call for the keelson to be a 2x4. I gave a 16' clear mahogany 1st that I would l I've to use. Will that be a problem? Also the plans call for using epoxy on the frame but joints. Can I use Gorilla glue or Titebond III as a substitute? Any thoughts would be welcome. I'm a newbie and need some guidance.

thanks.

James McMullen
07-18-2014, 09:01 AM
The mahogany is certainly a vastly better piece of wood than a construction 2x4...but you might want to save it for the next project, honestly. It'll be kinda wasted on this, and you're going to have a hard time replacing it down the road. Hoard that mahogany for a project where you'll be carefully crafting a delicate shape. A 2x4 is perfectly appropriate and ideal for a Spira dory.

Use epoxy. There is nothing more forgiving of a newbie boatbuilder's mistakes than waterproof, gap-filling epoxy. Neither Gorilla nor Titebond are actually gap-filling in any meaningful structural way. You need to learn how to use epoxy anyways, so just get started.

My best advice to you is don't change anything from the plans on this, your first build. You really ought to gain some practice and experience with what is known and proven to work before you head off into uncharted territory. Make this first boat a success, and you can build on from there on your next boat.

Of course there's a next boat. Don't be silly. :D

David G
07-18-2014, 09:05 AM
What James said - and adding only that Titebond II or III would be an acceptable substitute... but only in well-crafted, tight, clampable joints. The Gorilla Glue? Don't buy it. If you've already bought it... give it to a neighbor or relative you dislike.

Oldad
07-18-2014, 09:10 AM