PDA

View Full Version : epoxy and varnish on indoor furniture?

Charles Neuman
02-08-2004, 01:00 PM
My mother-in-law, in an effort to "help", scrubbed the wooden seats of our dining room chairs with one of those green scouring pads (used for cleaning metal pots). So now there are scratch lines everywhere.

Since I have some experience with bright finish, I was thinking about using fine sandpaper to remove the scratches, then use epoxy and varnish, or just varnish to finish them. Is there any problem or disadvantage using varnish on indoor furniture? I basically need it to be waterproof and look nice -- same requirements as a boat!

The epoxy isn't really necessary, I suppose, but it might help smooth things out a bit more.

[ 02-09-2004, 10:25 PM: Message edited by: Charles Neuman ]

Bob Smalser
02-08-2004, 01:09 PM
Epoxy and spar would be a waste of money, I believe. You need neither the weather sealing nor the UV inhibitors...plus spars are a little soft for your purpose.

Behlens makes a "Rockhard" interior varnish and a tougher "Bartop" varnish that would be a good choice if you want to avoid the cold, plastic look of poly....they rub out very nicely...much better than spar or poly....and have the warm tone of spar.

But what finish is already on the chairs? Better test it first with acetone to see if it's lacquer...because if it is, you will have to recoat with brushing lacquer instead...otherwise you'll have to remove the entire finish thoroughly before switching from lacquer to varnish.

And I'm bettin the scratches are mostly in the finish...not the wood. Before you sand, take the finish down in just the scratched areas with some Forby's Refinisher and some 0000 steel wool...let it dry....and see what you have before you sand. You'll probably need some oil stain in a matching shade on there before the finish, too.

[ 02-08-2004, 06:56 PM: Message edited by: Bob Smalser ]

paul oman
02-08-2004, 07:27 PM