PDA

View Full Version : My 17' whitehall

cerveza_fiesta
02-25-2014, 08:23 AM
I am putting together a 17' whitehall using the cedar strip method detailed in Ted Moores' and Susan Van Leuven's books. Plans are from Canadian canoes with some slight modifications to suit my liking.

This is my first time through the mold set up process. I've built my strongback, cut my molds from MDF and just last week I mounted them all on the strongback using 1" x 1" sticks sawn from scrap 2x4s. Squaring them to the centreline of the boat (in the plane of the waterline) was easy, but many of the molds are out of square in the station plane - ie. the surface of the station molds are not square to the surface of the strongback.

The one exception is at the aftmost and foremost station molds, where they are squared to the transom and stem molds, respectively. The next step for me is adding the stem and the inside keel strip before I start planking the hull. My question regards the best method for squaring up the station molds.

Option 1: make a square brace for each station mold
Option 2: slide each station mold into square and fasten to the inside keel strip with temporary screws, relying on the foremost and aftmost molds to keep the structure rigid and square overall.

The second option seems like it would save a lot of time but smells suspiciously of corner-cutting. Then again, it might be common practice to speed things up in this manner. Can anybody comment on what I should do?

Oh, and please don't take this as traffic-whoring for my blog (makes no difference to me if you visit or not), but if anybody is interested at all in following my adventures, I'm chronicling the build (hopefully the first of many) on:

http://nashwaak-boatbuilding.blogspot.ca/

And I'll be sure to credit forum members for advice given.

Thanks!

Bert Langley
02-25-2014, 09:03 AM