PDA

View Full Version : Canada and sprinkler sytems

bogdog
01-27-2014, 07:54 AM
Here's a senior residence in Quebec without a sprinkler system. Apparently they aren't required.
http://media2.s-nbcnews.com/j/MSNBC/Components/Photo/_new/140126-quebec-fire-840a.photoblog600.jpg

Flying Orca
01-27-2014, 07:58 AM
Not exactly true; it's just that when the regulations change, the government responsible at the time often exempts older facilities from having to meet new standards because it would have to spend zillions of dollars otherwise. Care homes are required to be sprinklered under the national fire code (and most if not all provincial fire codes, but I'm no expert there), but older homes may have been granted exemptions because it would be cost prohibitive to sprinkler them and we already have a shortage of care home beds.

bogdog
01-27-2014, 09:57 AM
Apparently provinces are not required to follow the whole national building code.
“There is a national building code, but not all provinces have to adopt it in full. Therefore fire codes are not regulated federally,” says Burrell, who is also a former president of the Canadian Association of Fire Chiefs. I gather the PM of Quebec has not plans to alter regulations in Quebec. Retrofitting by one, vested interest, account can run between 3 and 5 dollars per sq foot. Anyone know what the laws in Canada might be regarding liability in a case such as this?

Flying Orca
01-27-2014, 10:07 AM
Apparently provinces are not required to follow the whole national building code. I gather the PM of Quebec has not plans to alter regulations in Quebec. Retrofitting by one, vested interest, account can run between 3 and 5 dollars per sq foot. Anyone know what the laws in Canada might be regarding liability in a case such as this?