PDA

View Full Version : Anybody tried publishing in WoodenBoat?

Dale R. Hamilton
12-27-2013, 05:57 PM
Over the years I've sent several manuscripts to WB for possible publication. Typically there is no response at all. Then maybe a year later, if I can get somebodies attention, I get a "Oh yeah- its not for us". Now if I turn around and send it to somebody else, its usually published. I know I'm a pretty good writer as I have actually been paid for my submissions- by other magazines of course. I really think its because I write about powerboats. Not if I wrote about damn canoes, or sailboats, I'm sure WB would accent them. Anyone else tried?

Ian McColgin
12-27-2013, 08:16 PM
Dale, I should have thought that you'd read enough WoodenBoats to see that there are plenty of articles about power boats. Not knowing your articles I can't speculate on how they don't fit whatever the editor has in mind, but it's not the fact of writing about motor boats.

Hwyl
12-27-2013, 08:54 PM
Did you try proposing an idea for an an article, then writing it in the confines of their feedback.

I've had stuff published in the ÷ffcuts section.

Garret
12-27-2013, 09:06 PM
Scott (Cogeniac) recently did an article about his Makoto. She's power & she was on the cover of that issue.

Maybe it's a writing style thing? Dunno - maybe you could ask why?

SMARTINSEN
12-27-2013, 10:46 PM
Jack Dillon has written a few.

Dale R. Hamilton
12-28-2013, 06:54 PM
Well, here's the latest try. What do you think? The spacing is a bit messed up when I copied.

Dr. Hamiltonís Boats