PDA

View Full Version : wheelhouse windows

Oceanrunnercurt
12-08-2013, 08:39 PM
When i put a new wheelhouse on my 45 ft '76 lobster boat rebuild I.am thinking of putting in traditional wood trim windows but my problem is i have never done this before; had a 36 footer when i was younger and it had screwed on plexglass...yuck. was involved in a few fg fishing boat constructions but we used glass guys to put them in with rubber seals and metal frames for slidng windows.
I cannot find much online or on here about installing or planning windows.
Does anyone know of any sites or books on this?
I want them traditional but functional with a sliding side window and possibly a fwd window slider or on hinges.
Thanks

Ian McColgin
12-08-2013, 08:47 PM
Use lexan rather than plexi. You can get some local advice but I'd think 1/2" adequate.

It will be easier to make nice wood frames/sliders if you make the slide go up and down. You'll need a friction grip to keep them set.

G'luck

Nick J
12-08-2013, 11:28 PM
You'll need a friction grip to keep them set.

On our 1950's wood tug we use wedges to hold them in place at whatever hight we like and a leather belt attached to the bottom to lower them down and raise them back up. This works well but keep in mind it is not water tight in heavy weather; the boat was built with this in mind at the yard so it has a draining basin underneath the windows.

Ian McColgin
12-08-2013, 11:50 PM
Boats I've been on with these windows usually had them drop into a pocket that was outside the main pilot house structure and had some weep holes at the bottom. That way even a breaking wave would not force water up past the underside of the window. The side and top runner troughs were a sort of hydrophobic felt so when the brake was applied - really a glorified wedge - the windows were press sealed against driving rain or even boarding seas.

At any rate, simple to design and make. Strong as the rest of the house.