View Full Version : WB Forum SCAM ALERT!

Bob Cleek
11-27-2013, 09:25 PM
So I just checked into the forum and I get this popup that purports to be from WB.com asking me to participate in this little survey and in return I'll get $50.00 worth of prizes. I checked it out and it's some con job. You "win" the prizes (crap products somebody is pushing... cosmetics and e-cigarettes), but the catch is you have to pay "shipping and handling," which I'm sure they want your credit card information for.

"Congratulations! You have been selected to participate in an anonymous woodenboat.com survey. Upon completion you will be offered an exclusive reward for your participation."

So I read the fine print at the bottom of the page.

"Copyright 2008-2013 All rights reserved. We are not affiliated nor partnered, with woodenboat.com. woodenboat.com has not authored, participated in, or in any way reviewed this advertisement or authorized it. The trial products offered on the last page pay this website for orders placed. S&H charges do apply. See manufacturer's website for full terms and conditions before ordering your product as these vary by company."

How is it this outfit gets into the WB site with a popup? http://survey.com-opinions.com/us_2/index5_430.php?keyword=woodenboat.com

Rip off artists!

11-27-2013, 09:34 PM
Your computer is infected with malware. If you can't clean it up yourself take it to a pro. Sorry.


Bob Cleek
11-27-2013, 09:37 PM
I've got a pro who comes to me. Are you sure it's malware? If so, I'll get him to scrub it. I'd expect the same popups on other sites if it were, but what do I know. Thanks for the tip. I guess I'd better quit surfing those Bulgarian porno sites! :D :D :D

11-27-2013, 09:39 PM
They'll get you every time!



11-27-2013, 09:54 PM
I think it's your computer, Bob. Strange that they were honest enough to say they weren't affiliated.

11-27-2013, 10:12 PM
Strange that they were honest enough to say they weren't affiliated.

Honesty is cheaper than lawsuits.

Bob Cleek
11-29-2013, 04:14 AM
Yea, I've not had a few pop up on other sites with similar "surveys" they want me to take. They seem relatively benign, but annoying. I'll have my 'puter guru come by and clean it up. I've gotten pop up's telling me I need to download Java updates now, too. They are coming from some outfit called "Severe Weather Alerts."

11-29-2013, 10:24 PM
Tracking cookies, history lists, bookmarks - its malware/spyware -they go for the most used sites on your computer as you're more likely to trust the ads ;)

By law they have to state there is no affiliation, or they can be sued for it.

Download Avast Free if you havent got it, its great.

oh and CCleaner..... you'd be surprised how much sh*t your pc accumulates in a short while.

11-30-2013, 08:14 AM
^ Excellent, Sway, thnx-