PDA

View Full Version : A question for the corporate individual

Boston
11-01-2013, 11:06 AM
If a corporation is a person, why don't they personal income tax ? Why are they favorably discriminated as a corporation when the supreme court says they are a person.

I'm no expert on taxes, but it seems to me that if a corporation is a person then they should be paying some whopping huge personal income tax. For instance, the energy sector is making record profits soooooo shouldn't they be paying record taxes ?

BrianY
11-01-2013, 01:46 PM
A corporation is a "person" only for a limited number of legal purposes concerning contracts and legal liability. They are not "persons' in the same sense as you and I are.

Bobcat
11-01-2013, 01:54 PM
Corporations file income tax returns. If they don't pay enough in taxes, blame the tax laws and the loopholes that favor corporations

bogdog
11-01-2013, 01:56 PM
A corporation is "legal" person but not a "natural" person with fundamental rights, this is something that is not understood by the SCOTUS.

Waddie
11-01-2013, 02:15 PM
The corporate tax rate is high enough but they take advantage of many deductions, so they don't pay that rate. Of course, individuals take advantage of many deductions as well, so none of us actually pays the actual tax rate. 47% of individuals pay no federal taxes at all, though they often do pay payroll taxes which helps pay for their SS and Medicare. Corporations are also taxed twice, once on their profits, and again when those profits are sent out to shareholders, who, depending on how long they hold the stock, either pay their full tax rate on them or a reduced capital gains rate. There is nothing simple about the tax code. Lobbying for deductions and thus continually making changes in the tax code is what keeps the campaign coffers full and is responsible for thousands, maybe millions of tax related jobs in government and the private sector.