PDA

View Full Version : Best BBQ Ribs (so far)

Chip-skiff
05-30-2013, 09:26 PM
When I got married, 13 years ago, she had a small Weber Kettle grill (perfect for two) and I'm still learning new tricks with it. No doubt the old BBQ hands have this thing wired, but being a stubborn sort, I like discovering it on my own.

Cleaning out a shed, I found an ancient sack of hickory chips, and looked up ways to use them. In a foil packet with holes poked in it, on the coals, not so good: profuse smoke that didn't last long and the meat dried out.

The oldtime way is to soak the chips for an hour and layer them right on the charcoal. So I tried that on a pork loin and it came out beaut. I love boneless pork ribs, and the store had big packages at half-price, so I tried 'em out. Put 'em in a bag with Gates Original Classic BBQ Rub for two hours in the fridge and an hour on the counter. No pre-cooking (which I think drains the flavor). With a good bed of medium-hot coals, I put the ribs on to sear and brown, 2-3 minutes per side. Then I hoisted the grill with the ribs off and layered the moist hickory chips on. Then the grill and the top went on, with the vent 3/4 open.

Every ten minutes, I rotated the top so the vent was drawing smoke over different parts. After twenty minutes, I added a half-measure of hickory chips.

https://lh6.googleusercontent.com/-gbWdYS9rio0/UagEQlaTxCI/AAAAAAAAEFA/wyDAJDkPyz4/s750/ribs1.jpg

The smell was killing me. The dog was sniffing the air and drooling. After six minutes searing and thirty under the hood, they came out like this:

https://lh4.googleusercontent.com/-Ae_85uRQgVc/UagEV0VorjI/AAAAAAAAEFI/EsYdmV-Luo0/s800/ribs2.jpg

Gorgeous brown, juicy, done but not overcooked. Astonishingly rich taste. No sauce required. Not even salt or pepper.

Boiled corn on the cob, spinach salad with greenhouse cuke and yellow and orange cherry tomatoes.

I'm in heaven wit' my feets hangin' out.

Tom Montgomery
05-30-2013, 09:30 PM