PDA

View Full Version : Rebuilding Sandy Hook school?

John Smith
05-17-2013, 05:43 PM
I'm somewhat puzzled by the extreme idea of knocking this school down and building a new one. I realize those going to that school lived through a traumatic event, but the students will soon move on to another school anyway, and where do they go while this school is being replaced?

Is this really necessary?

Thoughts?

Phillip Allen
05-17-2013, 05:48 PM
maybe it’s an opportunistic chance to get something that wouldn't have been funded otherwise... ? Pretty standard for manipulative systems.

SMARTINSEN
05-17-2013, 05:54 PM
Newtown CT is a fairly affluent community, and they can afford it. I think that is meet and proper.

Waddie
05-17-2013, 05:59 PM
It might be just a little traumatizing to send your younger children to the same classroom where you oldest child was murdered. Maybe just a little unnerving, but then again, I'm no expert. Maybe just throw a coat of paint on it to hide the blood stains and call it good.........

I'm sure it isn't any problem for the teachers and staff to continue teaching in that particular set of rooms......

regards,
Waddie

hokiefan
05-17-2013, 06:01 PM
maybe it’s an opportunistic chance to get something that wouldn't have been funded otherwise... ? Pretty standard for manipulative systems.

Pretty sick.

Phillip Allen
05-17-2013, 06:33 PM
In my opinion, the school should remain as a "live" memorial to what happened.
In much the same way, Mr. Allen's remarks should be saved as a reminder to him as to why he receives so much animosity on this forum.

the truth hurts ... sometimes

Phillip Allen
05-17-2013, 06:34 PM
Pretty sick.

do you think we would have the Patriot Act without the 9/11 attack?

Figment
05-17-2013, 06:40 PM
. and where do they go while this school is being replaced?

Is this really necessary?

Thoughts?