PDA

View Full Version : First project boat. My 50's 15' runabout

azza
04-15-2013, 06:04 AM
Hi all. I'm new to these forums, new to wooden boats and new to project projects in general!

This seems like a great forum, I've spent the past couple of days trying to read and research as much as possible on here. I have so many questions as I'm completely new to all of this, but am excited about the prospect of learning much more about the world of wooden boating.

I grew up on the water would drive my little 5hp tinny just about every day of the week until the fuel tank ran dry. Loved that thing, and loved boats in general (owned a couple sail boats also). After moving away from the water I always wanted to get back on it but never had the means. Last year I decided to give myself a challenge and find a wooden boat project on a very tight budget. I'd done the same with some car projects recently and loved the whole process. After months of searching this 15' runabout popped up last week. I met the lovely owner, we spoke for an hour and I'm now the proud owner of this lovely clinker. Well it's lovely in my eyes anyway!

As I mentioned before, I am new to the world of wooden boating, and to be honest both excited and daunted by the task ahead. That's where I hope some of the forum's wisdom can help steer me in the right direction.

I'm still trying to find out more info about the boat, but so far all I know is that it's 15' long and has a beam of about 6', is apparently from the mid 50's and of cedar construction. Sanding has begun on the starboard side of the hull, and so far everything is looking very solid (fingers crossed). The boat itself I imagine was just entry level when new. There's nothing overly elaborate about the construction to give me the impression it was anything special when made.