PDA

View Full Version : where to retire

Steve Langdon
07-05-2001, 06:52 AM
I've been working abroad for 16 years, and am beginning to think about a place to settle in the States. I'm looking for a small town in Maine or northern California where an average guy like me can afford to keep a small cruising yacht. Where there is a good boatyard and reasonable moorings. I haven't been to either area yet; I've only read about them in magazines. I would appreciate any advice.

paladin
07-05-2001, 09:21 AM
Steve,
I've been overseas working for longer than that....and I am in the states doing the same........and I haven't found any where that's suitable. Land is too darn expensive in most places, you can't afford permanent dock space, no good hurricane holes to hide in while sitting on the hook unless you live aboard and row in to shore. I had planned to snow-bird, New England in the summer and south in the fall....but even that has it's own set of problems, like where to hide during hurricane season. Now I am looking for a nearby offshore spot.......
Regards..

RGM
07-05-2001, 10:28 AM
Try Puget Sound area, Pacific Northwest in general including British Columbia. Remember, no matter where you are the cost of fun keeps going up.

Nora Lee
07-05-2001, 11:02 AM
Eastern North Carolina and it's extensive sound system, access to the Intracoastal and moderate climate has my vote. There are many rivers to hide in during the hurricane season. The area is agricultural in nature and there are still real estate bargains to be had.

Andrew
07-05-2001, 11:38 AM
I second Nora Lee's choice. You'll need a skinny water boat but there is a lot of protected/semi-protected water for cruising in one.

Steve Langdon
07-08-2001, 10:24 AM