PDA

View Full Version : Sharpening your tools

Eddiebou
01-20-2013, 02:59 PM
I'm thinking about getting one of the slow speed wet sharpening tools like the Tormek. Jet and grizzly make knockoffs but I've read customer comments and it seems the Tormek might be better in the long run.

Do any of you use tools like this?

It looks handy. Is it worth it?

Comments?

Soundman67
01-20-2013, 03:13 PM
http://woodtube.ning.com/video/paul-sellers-how-to-sharpen-chisels-with-diamond-stones

Paul sellers has a great method for sharpening chisels and planes.
I use wet dry sandpaper sprayglued onto a glass sheet in the same method for now. it really works fast and easy.

Breakaway
01-20-2013, 03:24 PM
A buddy of mine, a pro woodworker, has the Tormek and swears by it. Keeps inviting me over with my edge tools.

Sellers method looks interesting. I am no pro with edge tools, but am handy with knives. My experience is that sharp enough to cut paper isn't a durable edge. If its less than "scary sharp" I can get through a lot more fish, nicking bones here and there, before swapping knives or touching up. Does anyone have experience to relate regarding edge tools made sharp enough to slice paper or shave hair?

kevin

landlocked sailor
01-20-2013, 03:48 PM
I have been sharpening with a hand cranked grinder and oil stones for more than 20 years and have always been satisfied with this for chisels and plane irons; for draw knives, knives and axes, not so much. For Christmas I got a set of Del Stubbs' spoon carving knives. I borrowed my buddy's Tormek just to see how it works. Wow! I went crazy and sharpened all my knives (shop & kitchen) as well as my carving tools, draw knives and AXES! It's unbelievable how fast and truly razor sharp everything is now. Since I have one readily available to me I doubt I'll buy one, but boy is it ever a fabulous system. Grizzly also makes a knockoff that I'd be tempted to check out. http://www.grizzly.com/products/10-Wet-Grinder-Kit/T10010. Rick