X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • DavidF
    Don't Remember
    • Mar 2002

car repair question

I posted this one on the Mercedes forums but I haven't gotten a clear answer because those guys view their antique cars like we view antique boats. But since this group has such and eclectic collection of talents, I think I'll try.

The car is a 1963 220Sb. The problem is the brake booster is leaking brake fluid. There are no more rebuild kits and a new booster is nearly two grand. The master cylinder and the brake booster are two separate units on this car. I was wondering if I could just take a brake booster from another (cheaper) car and connect some hoses. What would be the problem with this and how would I find the best booster to use?

Thanks for your advice
    Last edited by DavidF; 08-19-2012, 05:59 PM.
  • purri
    • Sep 2009

Re: car repair question

Compare the volume.
    Xanthorrea

Comment

• rstump
      • May 2009

I'm not very experienced with this model but from what little I do know, there is not supposed to be any break fluid in the booster.

Fluid in the booster most likely coming from the rear seal in the master cylinder.... I would start there..

Comment

• ChaseKenyon
        Polymath Renaissance Man
        • Dec 2008

Consider swapping to the vacuum pump and booster and system from a similar age diesel car. The brackets for the pump from the diesel engine fits some of gas sixes IIRC. Turbo turbo gas cars have no vacuum and as it is more compact they use a hydraulic booster. The benz has all its door locks and more vacuum operated so it has to have the vacuum pump and collector.