PDA

View Full Version : Hello And Epoxy Question

Alan Shook
08-14-2012, 07:31 PM
First of all hello to everyone here. I am fairly new to boat building and have been reading this forum this forum for a while and finally signed up! Last summer I built my first cedar strip canoe, a River Runner from Gil Gilpatrick's book. I used the West System epoxy from West Marine mainly because that is what he used in the book and I had good results with it. Now I am building the Puddle Duck and I have found several brands that are less expensive like Silver Tip, Marinepoxy and System Three on Boat Builder Central website. I am wondering if anyone has used these and if I would have good results with one of these compared to the West System?

Thanks, Alan

kc8pql
08-14-2012, 07:43 PM
I used >75 gals. of System Three to build Alaya. It's good, mainline brand epoxy. SilverTip is also System Three..

Dannybb55
08-14-2012, 07:45 PM
West is a great product, System Three is also as good, I have used many gallons of each and have had good results with both. If you can, find some Garamite to thicken it for making glue as opposed to glass fibers. Garamite does not float around in the air like glass and mess up your lungs.http://www.garamite.com/
Danny

David G
08-14-2012, 07:54 PM
All of the brands you mention are perfectly fine. RAKA is also a commonly used brand.

the_gr8t_waldo
08-14-2012, 07:55 PM
the duck punt, being such a nice cheap, reasonable, build there's no reason not to look for products based on price. personally i like areopoy listed in Aircraft Spruce n Specility. you're not building an hairloom. you're builting a memory!

John How
08-15-2012, 05:25 AM
I am building my third boat with marinepoxy, I love it. No blush using the medium hardener anyway and never failed to set and cure though I mix carefully by weight. A very good less expensive alternative to the name brands.

wdbeyer
08-15-2012, 07:34 AM