PDA

View Full Version : Boat Building Habits

JoeWolfe86
07-20-2012, 02:13 PM
Newbe Question: Having not built any boats yet I am wondering what values or habits will help. Not just to build a good boat but to help myself as well. What do you think?

I have always valued neatness. I was a programmer for 30 years and I always want neat program code. If it is sloppy where it doesn't count it will be also where it does count. Same for a boat.

I also value consistency. It helps to do things the same way every time in a program. If you do something once correctly then it is easier to do it ten more times correctly using the same method.

Correctness is also an issue. In a program everything has to be correct or it won't work. There is no room for errors. Each board in a boat should be correctly cut, fitted, fastened, and sealed to the board next to it.

Perserverance is a must in programming. There is also frustration, stress, attention to detail, concentration, precision, following directions, planning, large quantity of work, helpful work environment, ...

What do you think?

wizbang 13
07-20-2012, 02:33 PM
perfection is an unreasonable goal

seedy
07-20-2012, 02:33 PM
Use intuition and accept imperfections and let your hands teach your brain. You've been doing things on a screen in a controlled environment, this is not that same.

Gib Etheridge
07-20-2012, 02:56 PM
Don't be in a hurry. As soon as you are not only will you make more mistakes ("the faster I go the longer it takes") the less fun you'll have. So long as you're having fun what does it matter if it takes a bit longer? That works for me anyway, The Wiz can work at lightning speed, have fun and get a good job all at the same time. ;) (Hi Wiz)

esingleman
07-20-2012, 03:46 PM