PDA

View Full Version : Plyboats software

Dave Hadfield
09-03-2000, 11:02 PM
I just spent an hour with the www.plyboats.com (http://www.plyboats.com) software (a demo) and enjoyed it. I used the Jim Michalak user guide from his list-of-past-issues. (www.apci.net/~michalak/1jan00.htm) In very little time I worked out the lines for a 10ft punt, only to discover that it wouldn't show me the offsets unless I forked over the cash and bought the program. Great anguish.
It's USD $145. Has anyone used it? Would you recommend it?

Thanks,

Dave

redjim777
09-03-2000, 11:18 PM
I must admit to owning a copy. In a fit of unabashed spending on boatbuilding books I bought the program ( more like my latest "fix"). Now, I'm not an engineer and I don't play one on TV, but I do know the value of a piece of software when I use it.

All kidding aside it's a good tool for what it's designed to do. It's for hard chine-mulit-chine boats. It's been acouple of months since I monkeyed with it, but as a non-engineer - non-cad user I liked the program. It's simple enough for anyone to use. It works off of the distance from a builders line. You cannot just enter a set of offsets. I sucessfully entered a couple of designs on my own after a few hours of toying with the program. The manual is very helpful and so is Ray Clark.

This program allows you to design the hull and measure it's efficiency. He does have a catalog of sail rigs that you can add to your design, but I have'nt had the time to learn that end of it.

If you can afford the $145 US and would like to play with some hull shapes (including cats and tunnels) it's worth it.

Of course, this is just IMHHO.

Jim

Foster Price
09-04-2000, 06:13 AM
Hello Dave

You might like to try "Hullform", even the free version is very usefull and the 7S or 7G can be used for a high level of analysis. A friend of mine did all the hull design for a 40' boat on it. See www.iinet.net.au/~bluep (http://www.iinet.net.au/~bluep) .