PDA

View Full Version : Large vertical lifting centerboards

fosterjohn
12-18-2000, 06:11 PM
I'm a non-marine architect (but amature builder), I'm curious if anyone has used a vertical lifting centerboard on a large scale. I'm playing around with a 32'LOD Sharpie design that winches a 800lb centerboard into a interior wall. Don't worry I won't try building it without consulting a marine architect.
Thanks

Thad
12-18-2000, 06:43 PM
There is an extensive recent forum discussion "the bones of the scow Rahini" that is now on page two of the Miscellaneous pages. Therein you will find drawings and pictures of N.Z. scow schooners which apparently had just the boards of which you speak. There are books mentioned and there may still be one of these scows around so how they work the board might be accessible information. Good luck.

Ian McColgin
12-18-2000, 07:48 PM
Just don't put it in a tight CB box. You need room for it to move when you run aground at speed. Some put a bit of extra space at the forward end of the box and fill it with foam to make a sacrificial crush cushion. You'll want the CB structure to extend a bit fore and aft somewhere, either just above where it pierces the keel or just at it's top at deck level, to allow this heavey object to spread it's weight off the lifting tackle.

If you're really slick, you can design a bolt-on end plate (bolt-on since the only way to install is from above) to keep silt out of the trunk when your grounded, not to mention teasing your aerodynamical firends about tip vorticies.

G'luck

TomRobb
12-19-2000, 08:07 AM
I think I'd want the lifting mechanism to be idiot/bullet proof. The consequences of dropping an 800lb board could be unfortunate.

Tom Lathrop
12-19-2000, 09:58 AM