PDA

View Full Version : Puffin 28

Mike Keers
09-21-2000, 12:00 AM
Hi gang,
Has anyone built, or know of anyone who has built the Karl Stambaugh-designed "Puffin 28" diesel cruiser?

Got the plans, starting construction, wouldn't mind finding out if I'm the first!
Thanx, Mike

Mike Vogdes
09-23-2000, 09:37 AM
Hey Mike,

Looks like you may very well be the first!
Puffin 28 looks like a nice boat, lots of luck with it.
I ordered plans for Redwing 18 earlier in the week and Im now awaiting delivery. This looks like a promissing winter project provided I can squeeze it in my shop.

Mike Keers
09-26-2000, 01:30 AM
Mike,
Yes, it's looking like it's a medical experiment. I asked Karl if anyone else had ever built Puffin, and he referred me here!

Let me know what you think of his plans when you get them. It's a good thing I have some experience, as he seems to be of the same school as some other famous designer who said it "wasn't his job to tell the builder how to go about his job. He just supplied the lines".

Let's just say the plans for Puffin require a good deal of imagination and a fair amount of previous experience. It will be challenging fer sure! But then that's what we're here for right? Good luck!
Mike Keers

Mike Vogdes
09-26-2000, 01:45 PM
Mike,
My plans arrived yesterday and I looked them over pretty well last night. They seem to be clear and easy to understand, no surprises so far. However the scantlings are very heavy for an 18' boat. I would imagine the Puffin 28 dimensions would be on the large side as well.
Redwing 18 plans come both stitch & glue or glue and screw, I have never seen that befor on one set of plans. I like um, then again I like clasical music and rock and roll..

I'm gonna start taking off the material list tonight, we'll see how much I like'm then.

PatCox
09-28-2000, 09:21 AM
Mike V.,