PDA

View Full Version : Pipe Organ: How?

Leatherneck
11-20-2011, 05:38 PM
I enjoy old classical music, especially on traditional instruments.
Pipe organs are unpossible. See here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_FXoyr_FyFw

How in hell can anybody master the playing of such a complex instrument? And who/how was it designed and built?

I'm a test pilot and have tested some pretty complex and complicated aircraft, and I cannot imagine mastering the art of playing a big pipe organ, let alone designing and building one.

Tom

Shang
11-20-2011, 06:32 PM
Years ago we made a movie about the restoration of the Lowe's theater in Syracuse. The theater was brought back to something near its former glory, but what was nicer was that the local Organ Society's members pitched in and restored the WurliTzer theater pipe organ. Word about the pipe organ got around, and presently a very dear older woman came to us and introduced herself, Lurella Wickham, the person Lowes had originally hired as their organist back in the silent movie days.

One of our group, David Shepard, was a movie collector (later to be one of the guiding lights of the American Film Institute). We arranged to have Saturday morning screenings of silent films, Keaton, Chaplin, and the rest, with Ms. Wickham providing the music on that grand theater organ.
Those were the days, my friend...

Oh, and about learning the pipe organ? Try this one on for size:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nqefcXu3ykU

John Smith
11-20-2011, 06:51 PM
Jack Hardman is an old friend of mine. He has a marvelous theater organ. I have no idea how anyone dreamed this thing up and built the first one.

http://theatreorgans.com/wurlitzer/history/

Peerie Maa
11-20-2011, 07:14 PM
Rock drummers can keep different things going with all four limbs. So I guess that that was a bit like a pianist using six fingers on each hand.

John Smith
11-20-2011, 07:28 PM