PDA

View Full Version : Indoor garden question

Tylerdurden
06-23-2011, 06:07 AM
I am new to growing indoors, I have a big sun room and we planted Tomatoes in 5 gallon buckets along with cucumbers in rectangular bins. I had two rows of 4'grow bulbs going but it seemed the plants were some what spindly. I had a large metal halide I used on job sites so I swapped it out and within days I see a big difference in the plants. I am wondering though if any of you have grown mature plants under lights and what period of day length you would use. I am running 12.5 hours right now and am just looking at maximum production.

The other question is has anybody used those LED grow lights? They are super pricey but energy consumption might offset the cost. I would like to be able to produce in the winter months so it may be a worthwhile investment.

The Bigfella
06-23-2011, 06:41 AM
Growing a cash crop for barter eh?

The Dutch are masters at this. They only get 3% or so of their annual sunlight in winter... so grow crops under artificial light

seanz
06-23-2011, 07:04 AM
I had a large metal halide I used on job sites so I swapped it out and within days I see a big difference in the plants.

Extra warmth? How hot is that lamp?

Also, I've been doing some indoor gardening too, I'm new to it as well, want me to send you some seeds?
:)

Paul Pless
06-23-2011, 07:11 AM
summertime indoor gardening, hmmmm. . .

http://www.marijuanaseedbanks.com/images/hydro_marijuana_grow_rooms/images/hydroponic_marijuana.jpg

seanz
06-23-2011, 07:13 AM
Love what you've done with the pots.

Here's everything I know about growing plants indoors......be careful.
http://forum.woodenboat.com/showthread.php?129556-Chili-Pepper-Question.&highlight=

Dutch
06-23-2011, 07:50 AM
led is the way to go - round here the power company keeps track of your power consumption and notifies authorities if it seems your power consumption has escalated out of the norm -