PDA

View Full Version : How To Post Pictures Here....



NormMessinger
05-04-2003, 11:12 AM
Instructions for posting pictures

Photo to be posted must be on the web and in a site that allows cross posting. Many Forum users use www.imagestation.com (http://www.imagestation.com) . This is a free site which seems to have unlimited storage, large picture size, and unlimited albums.

Upload your pictures to ImageStation and create your albums or leave the pics in the in box as you wish.
Pictures in ImageStation are displayed in three sizes: thumbnail, display and original. Left click on the thumbnail brings up the display photo, about 640 bits X 400 or so. A left click on the display photo brings up the photo in the original size you uploaded. Forget this one, except in rare cases which I cannot explain it cannot be cross linked.

Select the picture you want to share in The Forum, thumbnail or display.

Left click on the thumbnail to show the display version.

Right click on the picture.

Left click "Properties".

Highlight the Address [URL] and copy it.

Now go to The Forum and prepare your new message.
Write what you want as a preamble to your picture, then:

Below the message area is a button, "IMAGE". Left click it.

Paste the URL you copied above into the block displayed.
Note that the block contains http already highlighted. Just paste without doing any thing else so you don't get http twice.

Add anything else you wish to add after the picture is displayed.

Click on the "Preview Post" button to confirm that what you want us to see will appear, then close the window.

Click the "Add Reply" button and standby for responses.

[ 05-04-2003, 03:50 PM: Message edited by: NormMessinger ]

Dave Fleming
05-04-2003, 12:18 PM
O&O Midwest, that is an 'aces' explanation.
I wish that the Forum Software allowed Scot to keep an excellent post like yours always on top of each forum as some other BB software does.

Donn
05-04-2003, 12:37 PM
Click on the "Display Message" button to confirm that what you want us to see will appear Perfect except...the "display message" button say's "Preview Post" on my PC.

Ged
05-04-2003, 01:21 PM
It's surprising, to me at least, that this subject isn't listed in the FAQ section above. After all, this is one of the more frequently asked questions in any of the forums that I have ever participated in.

Donn
05-04-2003, 01:41 PM
WoodenBoat pays hypernet by bandwidth used. The more pics we post on the forum, the more bandwidth it uses. They don't discourage or encourage us to post pics, so bandwidth doesn't grow as fast as it might.

Paul Scheuer
05-04-2003, 03:26 PM
Perhaps if each future picture poster who has used Norm's directions (or Donn's earlier thread, like I did) would come back and thank the teacher, the thread would stay near the top. Thanks Donn, Thanks Norm.

NormMessinger
05-04-2003, 03:58 PM
"Perfect except...the "display message" button say's "Preview Post" on my PC."

Huh? What you talkin about man?

There are probably some other things that could be made more precise or accurate.

One I've noticed since I loaded Winduzy XP is that I can no longer use the "Image Button" below if the URL is longer than will fit in the box. I don't mind doing it manually so I have not bothered to look for a fix.

I'm not so sure about the band width thing. If Shane would post pictures instead of words I bet band width use would go down.

Venchka
05-04-2003, 08:35 PM
Here is an Imagestation thing I discovered:

Imagestation displays your original filename as the caption in the albums unless you add a caption. With a bit of thought, you can give your files names that serve as captions too.

Drew
05-05-2003, 12:20 AM
Hello to all!! HOWDY!!! O.K. Norm, how does it work for a iMac???? Still having problems posting my pics Drew.

NEVER GOE SWIMMIN" WITH BOW LEGGED WOMEN!!! :eek:

Bob at Compass Boat
05-05-2003, 12:44 AM
Hi,

ME TOO , Another midwesterner with an IMAC.

don't have those left click and right click buttons on the mouse.

Thanks

Bob

NormMessinger
05-05-2003, 10:10 AM
Hey, Joe. What is an IMAC. Is that some sort of a computer?

Sorry, fellows, I just had to say that to Joe. I don't know even a naught about MAC's. What ya gotta do is get the URL for the picture itself, not the web page is show on and copy it to the forum so it lies between and thus URL.

N. Scheuer
05-05-2003, 10:53 AM
Thanks for the rundown, Norm.

I've just started using Cannon Hyperphoto, another free hosting site.

I've posted photos for awhile over on the Trailer Sailer Message Board, but they recently quit hosting photo files, and so was forced to use a free host site.

A tutorial by my son was required this weekend in order for me to make it work.

See my first offering under Miscl, boat related, Melon Seed.

Moby Nick

shadow99
05-06-2003, 09:52 AM
Now I tried jamming my photos into that'um floppy thing :confused: , but I just don't see anything on the screen. So I pasted them to my screen, now I can't see the screen & the glue residue is all over the place :eek: !
I guess I need one of those fancy digital cameras, to post my pics, darnit.

Rick

NormMessinger
05-06-2003, 10:19 AM
A scanner is cheeper than a digital camera.

Garrett Lowell
05-06-2003, 10:23 AM
Yes Norm, until you factor in all of the unwanted pics you end up taking with a regular camera. With a digital camera, you can take as many as you want, delete the bad ones, and take some more. Of course, these days, you can have your photos put on a cd when you get them processed. Perhaps that is the best of both worlds.

brian.cunningham
07-14-2003, 12:31 PM
Thanks for posting this Norm.

My posts work much better when I don't have to relay people to a different sight to see my pics!

Popeye
07-14-2003, 12:53 PM
Left click on the thumbnail to show the display version.

Right click on the picture.

Left click "Properties".

Highlight the Address [URL] and copy it.

or

copy URL from address bar!

"Traveling through hyperspace ain't like dusting crops, boy. Without precise calculations, we'd fly right through a star, or bounce to close to a supernova, and that would end your trip real quick, wouldn't it".

--Star Wars

Nicholas Carey
07-14-2003, 02:55 PM
Originally posted by Donn:
WoodenBoat pays hypernet by bandwidth used. The more pics we post on the forum, the more bandwidth it uses. They don't discourage or encourage us to post pics, so bandwidth doesn't grow as fast as it might.Actually, images anybody posted in a message here don't go through the WBF servers at all. All it that gets pumped down the WBF wires is a HTML <IMG></IMG> tag containing the URI of the image.

When your client (the web browser) requests an HTML page from the WBF servers, the duly return the requested information. The client web browser, parses the delivered HTML stream and in doing so and attempting to render it, notices that the page contains external content (the <IMG></IMG> tag of the included image).

The client web browser takes the URI for the included image and asks that server to deliver the image, which duly does so (or not...the reason you see the dreaded 'red X').

The only bandwidth used is yours and that of the server on which the image is hosted. The WBF server only delivers the 30-100 bytes required for the <IMG> tag and its associated URI.

That's why you can check the option in your web browser indicating that images should only be loaded when you explicitly ask it to load a particular image.

NormMessinger
07-14-2003, 03:11 PM
Maybe, but this is what I get doing it thata way:

http://www.imagestation.com/album/?id=4292182403

Nothing.