PDA

View Full Version : Potentential 1st Time Builder

kurt3
11-24-2000, 02:40 PM
I am a 1st time potential builder seriously considering building a small boat in the 14-16ft range that is capable of accepting a 10-25hp outboard motor. I want a no frills, easy to build, fairly rugged but asthestically pleasing boat to be used mainly for fishing. Thus far I have looked at the following designs:

1. Sand Dollar by Arch Davis
2. Little Moby in "Forty Wooden Boats"
3. San Juan in "Forty Wooden Boats"

My only stipulation is that I don't want to build a stitch and glue plan. I feel comfortable with my basic carpentry skills. Can anyone give me some advice on the above plans or some similiar plans that my searches have missed that might fit my above criteria? Thanks--Kurt

Thad
11-24-2000, 03:54 PM
I think you are right to trust your skills. I would recommend looking at the clamming skiffs in John Gardner's books. Boats on this plan were always built with solid wood, although Gardner shows them in plywood. You could go to Barber Lumber in Alachua and get wide cypress and hard pine for a proper job. Whatever, keep good materials, good lines, and good structure in mind, where you understand how all the parts fit together and work together; then all you have to do is get materials together and make all the little decisions required while you cut pieces and fasten them together.

stokeswood
11-25-2000, 04:42 PM
For a first boat, I suggest Glen-L or maybe Clark Craft. I have a number of Glen-L plans and, while not as salty as some others, there is a big selection and they are VERY easy to follow and, becauase they're on the West coast, you can call them when you get home from work - they are very helpfull. www.glen-l.com (http://www.glen-l.com)

Rob Witte

BrianCunningham
11-26-2000, 06:39 PM