PDA

View Full Version : Stimson Marine Ocean-Pointer

NHSC2
10-08-2000, 07:17 PM
Anyone have any experience building either one of these? I'm considering building either the Ocean-Pointer or a Simmons Sea Skiff. From what little I've read, the 19 1/2 ft ocean -pointer is quite a bit heavier than the comparable 20 ft. Simmons Sea Skiff (1,200 lbs vs 850 lbs). Any thoughts on the two types and their required horsepower? I'm a first time boat builder, but I have built a CLC 17 ft kayak and I'm an accomplished woodworker.

pretzel
02-24-2001, 07:43 PM
I just joined this forum & was reviewing all the posts for the past yr. hoping someone could clarify my questions. Seems as you have one similar to mine. I have plans for both. Of the two I favor the Simmons. I'm probably way off base but the Ocean Pointer started to feel more like a launch to me the more I studied the plans. The overall problem I have is that I just want to build one boat & I want to make the choice last without feeling another design would have been better. For that matter I have been agonizing over the way to build as well - stitch & glue vs. more traditional ways. At least that was helped by reading the comments in this forum. I'll go traditional. Now I just have to convince myself that the V bottom of a Simmons has it over any flat configuration. Hope you are having a better time of it than I am. Best Charlie

Thad
02-25-2001, 02:50 PM
Sounds to me like you're both having a good time and it's likely to get better.

Tom Beecroft
02-25-2001, 04:52 PM
Pretzel,

It doesn't matter what you build (or buy), you'll always look at other designs and wonder, and think, and lust after. That one has just a bit more storage, this one looks a bit more stable, wouldn't a small cabin be nice on days like today, etc etc etc.

Don't have personal experience with either one, but I can't figure out the advantage of the hole in the transom on the sea skiff.