PDA

View Full Version : For those wishing to test their sense of balance

PeterSibley
09-19-2010, 08:18 PM
:D Not for the vertigo inclined .

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gsYNFhO6c8g&NR=1&feature=fvwp

PatCox
09-19-2010, 08:49 PM
What an incredible trail. I suffer from vertigo so bad, I would have a hard time walking it, but, I have done so, forced myself to walk trails like that, that terrified me. On a bike, holy smokes, I would not begin to be able to do it. People who have the fear like I do, the fear actually causes them to fall, the unconquerable urge I have to lean inward, away from the edge, changes the force vectors where the feet meet the ground, and make you more likely to slip and slide toward the edge. When I was a carpenter, working on roofs, my boss taught me this, the worst thing to do is lean in away from the downward slope, it makes you more liable to slip and slide down.

David G
09-19-2010, 08:55 PM
I'd walk that trail with few qualms. I'd never bike it. I used to race dirtbikes, but never motocroxx. Those folks must be very experienced, and just brimming with self-confidence. Or... perhaps just Darwin Award wannabe's?

PeterSibley
09-19-2010, 09:02 PM
There something of the latter there ....too many unknowns on a ride like that to go fast .

coelacanth2
09-19-2010, 09:13 PM
Got my pucker factor up a bit. Wouldn't mind walking that, but there's an awful lot of long drops if you ut a wheel wrong. My son got a kick out of that - wants to hike it with a camera

skipper68
09-19-2010, 09:14 PM
The only time I get Vertigo,is on a dock,watching the boat move.,I've been up 4or5storys on a ladder,but,when I'm still,with a boat moving..URP! I had these s**t for brains playing chicken with my ladder, they had forklifts,in high winds once. They thought they won..2 arms on the frame,leggs around the ladder, my mood was no good,when that was footed..THAT'S why you dont carry a gun when painting! LOL.Still docks get my tummy tho.

Don Kurylko