PDA

View Full Version : How much is tech support worth?

Jeff Fuchs
03-22-2001, 04:22 PM
I am in the process of studying boatbuilding for my future project, which may be years in the future. I'm considering various designs, but the costs vary for the same plans. For instance, Iain Oughtred's Grey Seal looks like a good choice. Duckflat sells the plans for $315 ($642 Ausralian Dollars). Woodenboat sells them for $275. Not a huge difference, but Duckflat says that the cost also buys support for builders. As a newbie, I may need this, but I don't know for sure.

What experiences have you had with support from design suppliers? Does Wooden Boat Magazine offer similar services to its customers?

gashmore
03-22-2001, 06:37 PM
Depends on the boat, the completeness of the plans, your experience and how much you want to "individualize" your boat.

If you are building a day salier as your second or third boat, you can proabaly dispense with on going support. If it is a popular plan,it is probably fairly complete and you can probably get advice here.

OTOH, if it is a fair size cruiser you better make sure that access to an experienced member of the designer's staff. Most larger plan (for example most of the Bruce Roberts designs) come with lines, layout, structural drawings and some detail but you are pretty well left on your own for most of the systems and other details.

John and I exchange e-mails on a regular basis. My custom design cost a LOT more than than what you are talking about but it was still the best money I have spent on the boat.

Greg H
03-22-2001, 06:37 PM
I would say in regard to Ian's plans, buy them at the cheapest you can find. You can call him with any questions. Plus get his book, very helpful.
Greg

Tom Beecroft
03-23-2001, 04:47 AM