PDA

View Full Version : log splitter opinions

Paul Pless
04-19-2010, 08:08 AM
Any opinions appreciated....

I've never used one of any type before.

Especially on these pto driven screw type like this: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X3Rypb1dcUE

skuthorp
04-19-2010, 08:21 AM
I still use a man powered model. Good for taking out your frustrations.

Mrleft8
04-19-2010, 08:25 AM
PTO mounted splitters are great if you have 2 tractors, but you'll want your front bucket for moving the logs so get a seperate self powered unit. 20 tons is more than big enough. Get one that can be used both horizontal, and vertical. Don't let R.I. Singer help you split firewood...;)

Canoez
04-19-2010, 08:33 AM
Take a good look at the wedge itself - there were some that had attachments that went over the wedge to allow you to split into multiple pieces for each stroke. We used a splitter last Fall while helping a friend split firewood that had a four way wedge - cut four pieces from one log and simply slipped over the existing wedge and was easily removable without tools.

'Twas the bees knees. :D

Paul Pless
04-19-2010, 08:40 AM
Donn, I actually like splitting firewood with a maul, and spent about 30 minutes 4 or 5 days a week doing so through this last winter. But its terribly hard on my hands (carpal tunnel) so I think I shouldn't do it that way anymore. With all the clearing of underbrush and cleaning of ground clutter we've been doing, without cutting a single live tree, just picking logs off the ground that are still in good shape, I've easily come up with 4 cords of black locust to split with just the approximately one acre that I've cleared so far.

Canoez
04-19-2010, 08:43 AM