PDA

View Full Version : Back in water after 5 years: Hull

CaptainNoah
04-13-2010, 03:02 PM
Hi!

I am working on a George Buehler Juno that has weathered the past 5 wisconsin winters out of the water. I am a wooden boat novice and need a lot of help!

My first question is on the hull.

Questions from the picture:
1. The seams were filled 4 years ago and the seam compound is hard as a rock. Will it still serve its purpose or do I need to chip this out and fill the seams with fresh compound? If I need to go fresh, how long can I leave it in before it sees water?
2. On the stem there is an example of one of a few qouges in the wood. How should I attack this? My first thought would be to chip out the broken parts and pack in a wood filler but maybe I should just sand it smooth?
http://www.captainnoah.net/dandelion/dandelion%20repairs%20hull%20022.jpg

heres another photo for perspective:
http://www.captainnoah.net/dandelion/dandelion%20repairs%20hull%20001.jpg

Any other suggestions you can make from the pictures? Obviously she needs a fresh coat of bottom paint, and I have read of the merits of wetting the boat before she is dropped in water.

For people doing research, here is another good thread on preparing a boat for the water:
"Wooden Boat back in water after 4 years" - http://forum.woodenboat.com/showthread.php?p=2516459

Thanks!!

StevenBauer
04-13-2010, 03:36 PM
2. On the stem there is an example of one of a few qouges in the wood.
http://www.captainnoah.net/dandelion/dandelion%20repairs%20hull%20022.jpg

That doesn't look like a few gouges to me. It looks like rot. I think you need to find out how extensive it is.

I'm not sure what the seam compound is, what does Beuhler recommend?

Steven

CaptainNoah
04-13-2010, 04:27 PM
Hi Steven! Thanks for the help.