PDA

View Full Version : Collateral Damage?

Vince Brennan
04-07-2010, 05:53 PM
PLEASE be sure that no children are anywhere where they can see the monitor when (if) you open this link... it's NOT pleasant.

http://collateralmurder.com/

I know that "things happen" in a war, but there has to be some sort of a limit.

The long version is really disturbing, not that the "short" version isn't.

How you view this and your response will in great part depend on your political sunglasses. Mine are unabashedly misted up right now.:(:mad:

Paul Pless
04-07-2010, 05:55 PM
ad nauseum (http://www.woodenboat.com/forum/showthread.php?t=112568)

paladin
04-07-2010, 06:27 PM
Comments about being relaxed is part of the training...you want your personnel relaxed and focused on the job. I truly feel sorry for the journalists, but if they were inside the "enemy" they knew the risks...the guys on the other side don't have a giant red cross to see through their gun sights that say.."hey I'm a journalist, don't shoot me"......they are in the target zone, and they become targets There are only two kinds of people in combat, targets, and the guys shooting at them. The trick is not to become a target.

AussieBarney
04-08-2010, 05:53 AM
If that vidieo is a sample of how the US army fights its war in Iraq no wonder the iraqis are fighting back with every thing they have got. I could not see any threat to the war bird overhead. They made no real effort to investigate. They made a choice. I'm gonna shoot me some bad guys and they did. Hearts and minds Huh? good way to have another neighbourhood a no go zone.

Vince Brennan
04-08-2010, 07:33 AM
Well, what bothers me most is not that aspect. When on a mission, ANYONE who looks like the enemy is ALWAYS a potential target, but unless I missed it completely, I didn't see any of the groundlings point at or make any threatening gestures toward (actually, I don't think they really paid too much attention to) the Apache's location.