PDA

View Full Version : Apple trees

Phillip Allen
04-03-2010, 08:40 AM
I've got two new trees but it has been years and years since I've taken care of such things...who knows what to spray with?

Bare in mind that my bee hives are very close

JMAC
04-03-2010, 08:53 AM
Not sure about spraying, but I've pinched the buds the 1st two years to put more energy into growing the tree. I'm no expert on this though, just doing what the nursery guy said....

Phillip Allen
04-03-2010, 08:56 AM
planted them last year...got one apple out of maybe 5 or 8 blossoms

David G
04-03-2010, 09:55 AM
Or, with the bees, you might want to read up on organic techniques. Local extension service. Garden/orchard clubs. Google.

Phillip Allen
04-03-2010, 10:00 AM
Or, with the bees, you might want to read up on organic techniques. Local extension service. Garden/orchard clubs. Google.

good point...I had forgotton

ChefCarl
04-03-2010, 10:32 AM
Read the LABLE, it will tell you if it is bee safe. If it does not, do not use it around your bees.
This is one time that the lable is your friend, keep the bees safe.

Phillip Allen
04-03-2010, 10:33 AM
Read the LABLE, it will tell you if it is bee safe. If it does not, do not use it around your bees.
This is one time that the lable is your friend, keep the bees safe.

you bet

TomF
04-12-2010, 02:14 PM
...Four trees were girdled by the rabbits, so I took sections from the tops and grafted them onto an older Jonamac tree. Maybe they'll take, and maybe they won't.

http://i278.photobucket.com/albums/kk110/fredz859/Midfex/Topwork_041110.jpgI envy your space for such an orchard.

And I'm seriously impressed that you've found some way to graft even a few rabbits onto old apple trees, though I dunno why you'd bother ... except for the Nobel, of course. :D

paladin
04-12-2010, 03:01 PM
Just graft the meaty parts....

seanz
04-12-2010, 04:18 PM