PDA

View Full Version : iPhone alternatives...



BrianW
02-05-2010, 04:03 AM
Joe's thread got me looking for a used iPhone (I have a 3GS already) to use on the road, beyond AT&T's reach.

Apparently used iPhones are made of gold, at least judging by the prices out there.

So what are the alternatives to an iPhone? I like the big screen and lack of tiny buttons taking up all the real estate.

Does "jail breaking" apply only to AT&T? I need to use the SIM card from my Afghani cell phone, so no "jailed" phone for me.

A welcome side topic on this thread would be the different aspects of 'jail breaking' an iPhone.

Iceboy
02-05-2010, 09:09 AM
Brian, I use an HTC Touch Pro. It's a windows phone. It can do everything an iphone can and some an iphone can't. There are tons of apps out there both free and for free. They can be hacked to run on any network. I also have mine set up as a WiFi router for using my laptop in remote areas. Google PPC geeks for a forum or windows phone. Jim...

Kaa
02-05-2010, 10:28 AM
So what are the alternatives to an iPhone? I like the big screen and lack of tiny buttons taking up all the real estate.

Mostly the new Android phones: Droid (if you like keyboards)

http://morningbuzz.files.wordpress.com/2009/12/verizon-droid-phone.jpg
and Nexus One (if you like Google)

http://www.uncrate.com/men/images/2010/01/google-nexus-one.jpg

Kaa

willmarsh3
02-05-2010, 10:53 AM
I went to the various phone stores and handled some phones, in particular the MyTouch 3G and one other besides the iPhone. I found the iPhone less tedious and more smooth to use. I tested various features to do with searching, the address book and the calendar and found the iPhone excelled in these also. I decided it worked best for me.

BrianW
02-05-2010, 08:32 PM
Learned I need to find out if this service requires GSM, whatever that means.

BrianW
02-05-2010, 08:35 PM
I guess it does...

Roshan is the leading GSM cellular service provider in Afghanistan...

So I need to make sure whatever phone I chose is GSM compatible.

stoneyreef
02-06-2010, 02:03 AM
I have the new motorola Android. Great little phone except: It is not made for anyone who drives a lot. Very hard to hit a button and even make a simple call while driving down the road and the movement in the car.

A simple phone with real buttons worked much better. I use a blue parrot headset and the droid does not do voice dial yet via headset so it is an issue.

However, the droid really does absolutely everything!

Stiletto
02-06-2010, 02:29 AM
The number of choices is staggering.
Although my phone has internet capability I have no need whatsoever for that in a phone.

It seems that everybody needs something different from their phones.

There is always something that delivers what you want, the hard thing is defining it.

BrianW
02-06-2010, 03:59 AM
Thanks for the suggestions. Most however, are as expensive as an iPhone. The search continues.

cs
02-06-2010, 08:15 AM
Brian I use the Blackberry Storm and it works great. Crackberry has a ton of great apps and the Storm is also an International phone (if I want to pay the rates). The app I use the most is Tetherberry which hooks my phone up to my laptop and gives me great internet service using my monthly data plan and no tethering charges.

Chad

Steve Paskey
02-06-2010, 05:05 PM
Brian you may want to think about a wifi capable phone so you can make VOIP calls using Skype ...

You don't necessarily need a phone for that. you can do the same thing with an ipod touch and a set of earphones that includes a mike.

One question you might ask yourself, then, is whether you really need a PHONE that has the data capabilities ... if you're outside AT&T's reach, what are you going to pay for data on top of the phone charges? (With AT&T, it's $30 a month plus taxes and fees, probably close to $400 a year, that's $800 over two years, versus $229 for a new ipod touch.) For me, the cost of a data plan in addition to the phone service isn't worth it, but your needs may be different.

Paul Pless
02-06-2010, 05:37 PM
Just how well does something like skype work on on a 3G network? I pretty much figure that it would have to suck. . .