PDA

View Full Version : coelan.......anyone used it??

skaraborgcraft
01-27-2010, 01:27 PM
i have a traditionaly planked wooden deck that is suffering from leaks in various places. I have some small sections of planking to replace,and so the varnish coating will be removed entirely and probably re-caulked. I have heard coelan will flex with the movement of the deck.Has anyone used this product,and can anyone reccomend it?

John P Lebens
01-27-2010, 02:45 PM
I have not used it but found this info while researching le Tonkinois varnish.

Here is a link to a 3 1/2 year varnish test done by a British wood boat magazine called Classic Boat. Coelan was top rated varnish for durability by a long shot. It is expensive and I have heard it shifts color in an unpleasant direction, but again, I have no personal experience with the stuff. Varnish you can apply and forget for 5 years? Wow!

http://www.premapro.com/PDFs/ClassicBoatVarnishTestMarch2008.pdf

John L

Kudzu
01-27-2010, 03:20 PM
Some of the guys have used it on their Skin on Frame kayaks and nothing but good remarks so far. I would expect a kayak skin is going to flex A LOT more than the your wood deck is going to move. The price keeps a lot of us from using it on the kayaks.

skaraborgcraft
01-27-2010, 03:44 PM
apparently i have heard it can be a bit tricky to apply,being so thick,and a varnish smooth finish is hard to acheive,not that it is a problem on a deck! I dont mind paying for a good product that is long lived and "does what it says on the can". The discolouration thing i have heard about,what about removing the stuff?Thanks for the replys so far.

Michael D. Storey
01-27-2010, 03:52 PM