of music originated in the US?
Bluegrass
Gospel
Blues
C&W
Jazz
Rock and Roll
Rap (?)
And I'm no musician, but I know we have some here.

Lew Barrett
01-09-2010, 11:30 AM
We quickly realize that the roots of Bluegrass are Celtic, while R&B, gospel, and R&R are often considered meat off the same bone and African in origin. Jazz is a real mutt, with Klezmer and African origins in a unique American stew that nonetheless reverberates off a European instrumental heritage. And so it goes!

I think the question doesn't have a really direct answer, but it is fair to say that American popular culture has had a huge, profound effect on the music of the modern world. American inventions like the electric guitar have further defined the evolved genres. But like language, music connects us across cultures, and it's roots are more complicated as one delves into the forms.

Paul Pless
01-09-2010, 11:35 AM
How many genres of music originated in the US?bubblegum pop... unfortunately

Lew Barrett
01-09-2010, 12:19 PM
All the good stuff is from Alabama. They just record it in Nashville :D

leikec
01-09-2010, 01:10 PM
Actually, the good stuff came out of the Mississippi delta, New Orleans, and the Appalachian/Cumberland Mtn. region...via the Old World and Africa....

Jeff C

bobbys
01-09-2010, 02:09 PM
Grunge.

hop hip.

Boxcar willy

SamSam
01-09-2010, 03:36 PM
How about that Cajun music? That's homegrown.

SamSam
01-09-2010, 03:45 PM
Drum and bugle corps are American, but I don't know if that's music.

How about Big Band?

Swing?

Musak?

seanz
01-09-2010, 04:58 PM
There's an argument to be made that Grunge is Canadian in origin. ;)

Lew; as to the European instrumental heritage of Jazz......a Jazz band is just a Brass Band goofing off.
:)

Captain Blight
01-09-2010, 05:22 PM
Big Band, maybe... I know that it was responsible for the birth of Calypso, thence to ska and reggae. There's a direct line of descent between Glenn Miller and Matisyahu.

Paul Pless
01-09-2010, 08:07 PM