PDA

View Full Version : Rudder Repair Questions

Quk&DrtyPete
07-04-2002, 04:24 PM
This question is about a *****glass rudder from a 30 ft Watkins sailboat. Friend ran aground and hit a rock. Rudder post is 2 1/2 ss tubing with about a 1/4 wall thickness. The rudder is now out of alignment with the rear edge touching the hull. This is what we think the problem is. The rudder is a spade type not attached to the keel. We believe it is a foam core fiberglass covered. Internally we think there is a spade shaped ss piece attached to the rudder post. To repair are plan is to slice the rudder open the way you would slice a hard boiled egg the long way. Saws of various types to be used. We think the internal ss plate has moved in the foam core or the post is bent. Whatever repair that is necessary we will do then epoxy the whole thing back together. I know that this is way off topic but I am trying to help a friend. Is this plan workable? I have never worked with a foam core before. Thanks

mmd
07-04-2002, 06:19 PM