PDA

View Full Version : Hoarders

bobbys
09-01-2009, 12:38 AM
Im watching a TV show about Hoarders.
Being a roofer i work on all kinds of homes.
I have roofed a few homes where the people were hoarders.
They all have had cats, Many cats.
None of them thought anything was wrong.
Everything was worthless, Newspapers, cardboard, coffee cans, plastic etc.
This week i have to patch another home with a older lady in it.
Her collection also goes outside and there is no where to even set up a ladder..

One hoarder was a good friend of mine.

He kept his bedroom full of his tools and even the bed,

he and his wife slept on the floor in the hallway in between piles of junk, They never thought anything of it,

Years ago i went to buy a metal Lathe but he wanted it so i let him buy it, He set it up at the foot of his bed!!!!

Yeadon
09-01-2009, 01:16 AM
Good enough.

rbgarr
09-01-2009, 03:26 AM
For many, it's related to psychological issues that can worsen with age: http://understanding_ocd.tripod.com/hoarding.html

Ron Williamson
09-01-2009, 05:11 AM
I met a guy whose wife and daughter hoarded cats.He'd had a bad stroke and was pretty powerless to change his world.
They had about 25 of the bastards and most of them used the tops of the kitchen cabinets as a litter box.
In the depths of the last recession, my partners were contracted to tear out all of his carpets and replace with hardwood.
The workers threw out their clothes after the carpet removal and cleanup.
R

brad9798
09-01-2009, 08:37 AM
I hoard toys, money, and things from deceased family members ... and any old boat parts I can find!

skuthorp
09-01-2009, 08:41 AM
I know of a man with a 4 bedroom house and double garage FULL of stuff, He lives in a small caravan in the drive.

Tylerdurden
09-01-2009, 08:50 AM