PDA

View Full Version : Finish on miranti step box

CJ
01-16-2005, 11:16 PM
I just made a boarding step box for my boat with some leftover 3/4" miranti ply that I was planning on painting when done. Turns out it came out better than I expected and thought maybe I should varnish it or something. Any suggestions out there for a LOW MAINTENANCE natural finish that's relatively easy and durable? I already epoxied the exposed edges of the plywood, so that has to be taken into account.

I'm new to finish work, so a few questions that are probably '101' to most of you: Can I varnish over a couple coats of epoxy? Should I? What can I do to make the top surface non-skid? Should I only do the outside and leave the inside untouched, or encapsulate the whole thing? This will be out in the weather ALL THE TIME, so something easy to maintain would be great (the rest of the boat will be quite enough maintenance for me).
http://www.imagestation.com/picture/sraid154/p953be950b3e7881197605c316010f490/f571b9b7.jpg

[ 01-16-2005, 11:36 PM: Message edited by: CJ ]

Bob Smalser
01-17-2005, 08:48 AM
Good looking box.

Here's what I'd do to it:

1) Cut a centered, 1X4-inch slot in the top for one-hand lifting without bending down as far as necessary to reach the handles.

2) Cover the end grain on the sides with 1/4-inch thick strips of H. Mahog and putty or plug all of the screw and brad holes after countersinking.

3) Fill the grain with an oil-based, mahogany-color wood filler and varnish with whatever UV-resistant spar you are using.

Grain fillers are oil stains full of diatomaceous earth applied thick with the grain, allowed to set up and rubbed off with coarse cloth across the grain to make a level surface. Then each subsequent coat of varnish is sanded to again level the surface with each coat for 4-6 coats worth.

Plywood has very thin veneer on the wear surface and "low-maintencance" finishes that don't form hard films won't protect it enough.