PDA

View Full Version : Go fly a kite

ishmael
08-26-2009, 09:49 AM
That was as I was growing up a way of a mother to shoo her children. You remember, or maybe you don't. At one time the mother, and the hearth, was the heart of a house. There are lot's of complications in the model, not least of which momma wanting an intellectual life of her own. But there's something good to be said for flying kites.

Mrleft8
08-26-2009, 10:12 AM
I used to have kite building/flying parties on my birthday every year as a child....We never got to go fly the kites though, because it was always raining... (I can count on one hand the number of times it hasn't rained on my birthday in 48 years.) When I graduated to model rockets it was a little easier... Build the rockets the week before, get everyone over for the party, eat, rough house, send dad out in the rain to set up the launch pad, load the rockets with fuel..... RUN OUT INTO THE RAIN, stand under a tree while dad launches the rockets in the rain, go back inside for cake.

ahp
08-26-2009, 10:16 AM
In WWII the Germans used man lifting kites to lift an observer from the deck of a submarine. If they were surprised by an enemy airplane they had to cut the poor SOB loose and dive.

Peter Malcolm Jardine
08-26-2009, 10:29 AM
That was as I was growing up a way of a mother to shoo her children.

I doubt she ever said "Go get a case of Wild Turkey and live in a trailer"

LeeG
08-26-2009, 11:32 AM
That was as I was growing up a way of a mother to shoo her children. You remember, or maybe you don't. At one time the mother, and the hearth, was the heart of a house. There are lot's of complications in the model, not least of which momma wanting an intellectual life of her own. But there's something good to be said for flying kites.